Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Are you tired of companies establishing bullshit social media policies and guidelines? Are you tired of companies ignoring or deleting negative comments on their blogs and social streams? I am. Social media allows companies to be transparent. To tell a different story than what was previously told in advertising and print media. When companies start putting rules on what their employees are allowed to do on social media, lying will happen.

If companies think they can lie, or hide some truths from their audience nowadays, think again. Social media is a place where transparent companies thrive, and loser deceitful companies dive.

I asked Chris Dessi (@cdessi) if he could guest post, and he sent me this interesting snippet of his new book on social media called Your World is Exploding: How Social Media is Changing Everything-and How you Need to Change with it. The chapter is called Awakening and the section is called Truth. (You can get access to the complete chapter on his blog).

Truth 

       After I started my blog in 2007, I stuck to generating content about business.   I would select an article in a trade publication and offer my opinion about the piece.  I would get some readers, and I felt good about the work I was generating.  I moved into my vice president role, and continued to offer my business insight on my blog.  Then I was let go.   I had a decision to make.  Would I pretend that I left this dream job on my own, or would I honestly blog about my experience?  We all tell ourselves lies.  We create excuses, put up walls, and point fingers.  It’s not easy to find your truth.  The first step for true success is to stop telling lies, and take inventory.  Forgive those you hold grudges against.  Free yourself from the expectations of others.  Put your health first, and ask yourself what will truly make me experience fulfillment? I decided I would allow my readers to learn that I was let go, and I blogged about the experience.  I spoke about my depression, my drinking and my coping with being out of work.  I gained a whole new readership, and I purged my demons.  Once you’ve answered the question “what will truly make me experience fulfillment,” then you can begin your journey to discover the true spirituality of social media.  If you decide to start a blog and base the content on what you’re currently doing at work, and that work is not fulfilling, you won’t succeed.  The moment you begin to generate content from your heart, it’ll pour out.  You’ll never experience writer’s block.  You’ll wake up in the middle of the night with ideas to blog about.  You’ll feel a light flicker inside you which you know you must share with those in your social network.  You’ll crave to have a larger audience with which to share your message.  See if you can recall the last time you were working on something and it felt as if time had dissolved.   Moments became hours, and hours became days.  You didn’t seek motivation from outside sources; you just followed your intuition.  This is your goal in social media.  I don’t want you to lament over every wall post, Tweet, blog post, or video blog.  If you’re generating content from the right place, you’ll experience success.  If your heart is in it, and you feel content in your bones you’ll succeed. 

So what do you think? Is Chris right on-the-money with this one? Should you’re blog be from the heart, even if you’re a company? Should you show transparency, like his example of drinking and depression? Should you express your opinion even if it might be against popular beliefs? Let me know in the comment section below! And don’t forget to share with your friends!

Christopher Dessi (@cdessi) is Managing Partner at Drive Action Digital (@driveaction), a digital marketing agency, and Co-Founder Chief Marketing Officer at The Athletes Network (@athletesnetwork), a social network designed to connect the 7.6 million high school athletes with college coaches. Chris is a regular contributor on Fox News. Chris also just wrote a book on social media.

What did you miss?

 

 

