Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

*This post is a response to Trampoline Branding’s “The Big Intern Hunt.”*

Trampoline Branding wants potential interns to “prove their social media power” by posting something on Facebook, and then getting their friends to like it. But does getting your friends to “like” something on Facebook actually show you have “social media power?” Not really, in my opinion.

Facebook is only one of many social networks on the internet nowadays. Often, when someone mentions social media, you think about Facebook, because it’s the largest. But what about Twitter, Pinterest, Google+, LinkedIn, Youtube, and others? Aren’t these social networks important too? What about blogging?

People are used to liking stuff on Facebook. But does that “like” even mean anything anymore? Not really. So how do you show you have social media “power”? By creating engagement through multiple social networks.

Social media marketing is all about engagement. Engagement happens when good content is shared – when relevant content is shared. A brand can have 500 Facebook fans, or 2000 Twitter followers, but if they do not share content that their community wants, they won’t be generating any leads. So how do you create engagement? This is how I did it:

  1. I learned about the different social networks and social media tools that were available, and experimented with them.
  2. I set up my own marketing blog.
  3. I targeted key followers in the industry, and then followed them on Twitter.
  4. I listened to what my followers were saying (what type of content that they shared), and especially what my influencers were saying.
  5. I engaged with my influencers on a regular basis, asking them questions, and sharing their content.
  6. I created my own content strategy. This involved consistently sharing my own content, along with others’ content on various social networks.
  7. I made sure to respond to all messages on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and my blog, whether these messages were positive or negative.

Where did all of this lead me? Here’s a little case study to show you:

  • I started engaging with Radian6 on Twitter on a regular basis.
  • I decided to write this post as my job application.
  • I engaged with my influential followers, and asked them to share this post with their community.
  • I tagged Radian6 in the post on Twitter and Facebook to make sure they would see it.

Results? I was contacted by email within 24 hours to set up a phone interview. I had my phone interview within 48 hours of me writing the post. But that’s not all! Other people were interested in the post too, and decided to write articles about it! Here are the links to the articles that different people wrote:

I did not end up getting the job with Radian6 because of bad timing. However, I ended up making great contacts during the experience! Also, Radian6 invited me to write a guest post for their blog.

Doesn’t this show more “social media power” than getting friends to like your status? It just shows how great content, mixed with engagement on different social networks with key people in your industry can make your message go a long way! I think I would make a great Trampoline Branding intern because I possess the skills to create engagement online, which is what companies are looking for! :)

**If you want to help me become the next Trampoline Branding social media intern, please click this link and “Like” my post on Facebook. You might have to scroll down a bit to view my post.**

What do you think about my story? Do you have any social media success stories you want to share? Please leave a comment below, and share this post with your friends!

